Working together to protect our future

The NTPA is the industrial voice of all members of the Northern Territory Police Force. The NTPA negotiates alll industrial agreements for it's members and ensures the protection of member's rights.

The NTPA was first formed in 1939. The association lapsed in 1942 after the bombing of Darwin then reformed in 1946 - anecdotally because of a dispute over lockers.

The NTPA Executive is made up of the President, Senior Vice President, Vice President, Treasurer and 10 Executive members. The President is elected every four years and all other members have two year terms There are elections every year with half of the Executive up for election one year and half the next to maintain continuity.

There are 16 regional branches throughout the NT. The regional branches are made up of five delegates being the Chairperson, Vice Chair, Secretary and two Ordinary Members. Elections for regional positions are held every year.

An Annual Conference is held each year which sets the direction for the Executive and Association. The Annual Conference is the supreme governing body of the organisation. It is made up of the elected branch officials and the Executive. The Annual Conference sets guidelines, goals and objectives for the Association.